comparison · Teachers
Canva for Education vs Adobe Express for Education (2026): Which Free K-12 Licence Actually Gets Approved?
Both are $0 for K-12, but the approval path is not close. Canva verifies an individual teacher with a school email domain in minutes or a document within 48 hours. Adobe Express is deployed by the school or district through an Admin Console, so a teacher cannot switch it on alone. Here are both eligibility rulebooks, the AI default that separates them, and what a district should check before choosing.
Affiliate disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It never influences our rankings — read our full disclosure.
Short answer: for one teacher who wants a design tool this week, Canva for Education is the only one of the two you can switch on by yourself. Canva verifies an individual K-12 teacher — a verified school email domain gets access immediately, and a photo or scan of a teaching licence is reviewed within 48 hours. Adobe Express for Education is equally free, but its deployment page routes you to an Adobe Admin Console or the K-12 self-service wizard: the licence is issued to a school or district, and teachers and students are activated underneath it.
If you are the person signing for a district, the calculation changes. Adobe’s setup is written around admin consoles, SSO and roster sync, and its free licence grants Adobe Express Premium at no cost. Canva runs the same district play — SAML single sign-on, rostering, admin controls — and says more than 30,000 school districts use it. The tie-breaker there is not the design tool. It is which identity system your IT team already runs.
This comparison does not quote a personal-plan price. Canva’s pricing page renders in the visitor’s local currency, so regional figures are not directly comparable. Both education licences cost $0 — price is not the variable here, eligibility is.
The comparison, from both vendors’ own pages
| Canva for Education | Adobe Express for Education | |
|---|---|---|
| Price for K-12 | $0 — “100% free” | $0 — free K-12 licence grants Express Premium |
| Who the licence is issued to | An individual verified teacher, or a school/district | A school or district |
| How a teacher gets in | School email domain → instant; otherwise document upload, reviewed in 48 hours | Via the school’s Admin Console or the K-12 self-service wizard |
| How a student gets in | Teacher invites them; a matching school email also works | Class code from the teacher |
| Re-verification | Every 3 years | Not stated on the education pages |
| Grade levels covered | K-12 only — higher education is explicitly excluded | K-12 |
| Generative AI for students | Off by default, unlocked only by admins | Included in the Premium-level licence, with safe search |
| AI training on school content | Stated as never used to train models | Not stated in the education FAQ; links to student privacy policy |
| Account ownership | Individual for teacher accounts; institution for district deployments | School owns accounts and exercises admin rights |
| Compliance claims | FERPA, COPPA, iKeepSafe certified, NDPA signatory, GDPR DPA | Student privacy policy; safe search with content filtering |
| LMS integrations | Canvas, Google Classroom, Schoology, ClassLink, PowerSchool, Infinite Campus, Aeries, Skyward | Google Classroom, Canvas (LTI 1.3), Clever, ClassLink, Microsoft SCIM |
| Storage and asset limits | “Most premium features” included; exact education allowance not published | Express Premium entitlement; exact education credit allowance not published |
Read from Canva’s eligibility guidelines, Canva for schools, Adobe Express for Education and Adobe’s K-12 deployment page on 21 October 2026.
Canva — the individual teacher is the unit of verification
Canva’s eligibility page is unusually specific, and the specificity is the useful part. It lists five eligible roles — a certified K-12 teacher currently in a teaching position, a certified K-12 school librarian, a certified K-12 learning support assistant or teacher, a certified K-12 curriculum specialist, and a certified teacher at a technical or vocational school serving primary or secondary students — plus four organisation types: accredited K-12 schools, school districts, departments of education, and other global school systems.
It then lists fourteen categories that cannot get in. The ones that catch people: certified teachers not currently in a teaching position, public city or county librarians, preschool and daycare assistants, homeschool educators who are not licensed or employed by a K-12 institution, private or volunteer or online tutors, and parents of K-12 children. Colleges, universities, their lecturers and their students are excluded too, and pointed at Canva for Campus, a paid product.
The verification is why Canva wins the “I need this today” question. A verified educational email domain grants access right away. Without one, you upload a photo or scan of an approved document — a teaching licence, proof of employment, a school ID — and Canva reviews it within 48 hours. Teachers in Japan, Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, the United States and South Korea only need a copy of their teaching licence.
Students are a different path, and it is worth being precise about it. Canva states that K-12 students can only get access if their teacher invites them from a Canva Education account. A student who signs up with a school address that matches a registered district gets access instantly; if the address matches nothing, the signup flow lets them enter a teacher’s email so the class can be onboarded. Higher-education students get Canva Free, or Canva for Campus if their institution buys it.
- Best for
- K-12 teachers who need a verified design suite without involving school IT
- Pricing
- Free for verified K-12 teachers and students (verified Oct 2026)
Strengths
- An individual teacher can be verified without involving IT
- School email domain grants access immediately; documents are reviewed within 48 hours
- The eligibility rulebook is published, including fourteen explicit exclusions
- Generative AI is disabled by default for students and only admins can unlock it
- Canva states it never uses Education content to train AI models
- District deployments add SAML SSO, rostering and per-category admin controls at no cost
- More than 30,000 school districts are named as users
Trade-offs
- K-12 only — colleges, universities and their staff are excluded
- Tutors, homeschool educators, librarians outside schools and parents cannot qualify
- Re-verification every three years, which is a real administrative task at district scale
- Graduating students may lose access to their designs unless they copy them out first
- The exact AI allowance on the education licence is not published
- District-wide setup requires SAML 2.0 SSO and your own email domain
Adobe Express — free, but issued to the school
Adobe’s education page opens with “Try the free digital media app for K-12 classrooms”, and the deployment page is blunt about who holds the licence: “Adobe Express is free for your school or district.” The four-step path is check whether your school already has an Adobe Admin Console, read the deployment guide, enable free access through the Admin Console or the K-12 self-service wizard at k12.onboarding.adobe.com, then activate users.
That structure is deliberate. Adobe’s education FAQ describes the K-12 offer as the commercial creative tools plus education-specific controls: privacy settings a district can configure to meet its student-privacy obligations, single sign-on so students use their existing school ID, premium creative assets and student-friendly Adobe Stock images with safe search, no paywalls or ads or popups, and admin rights that stay with the school. For a district, that is the correct shape. For a teacher whose school has never heard of the Admin Console, it is a purchase-order conversation rather than a signup form.
The integration list is where Adobe is strongest. Google Classroom lets teachers assign Express projects without leaving Classroom, licensed through the Google Admin Console with OU sync. Canvas runs on LTI 1.3, so projects are assigned as templates and graded in SpeedGrader. Clever and ClassLink provide SSO with roster-based licence assignment, and Microsoft environments get SCIM sync plus sharing into OneNote and Teams.
Adobe’s free-versus-Premium comparison, published on its enterprise help pages, lists 250 generative credits a month for the Premium offer, against “free daily generations or free lifetime uses for specific features” on the free offer, and puts Premium content at 200M+ assets, 519K templates and 30K fonts against 1M+ assets, 268K templates and 4K fonts. Its education pages do not state the monthly credit allowance attached to the free K-12 licence, so treat 250 as the commercial Premium figure rather than a confirmed classroom quota.
- Best for
- Districts that want Express Premium assigned through their own admin console
- Pricing
- Free K-12 licence deployed through a school or district Admin Console (verified Oct 2026)
Strengths
- Free K-12 licence grants Adobe Express Premium at no cost
- Google Classroom, Canvas LTI 1.3, Clever, ClassLink and Microsoft SCIM are all documented
- Schools own the accounts and keep admin rights
- Safe search with content filtering is part of the K-12 offer
- No paywalls, ads or popups inside the education experience
- Same creative engine as the commercial product, so skills transfer
- A self-service wizard exists for districts that have no Adobe contract
Trade-offs
- An individual teacher cannot complete verification alone — it is a school-level deployment
- No published document-upload path for one teacher, unlike Canva
- No published monthly generative-credit allowance for the education licence
- Roster sync and SSO assume an IT team that knows the Admin Console
- The no-AI-training commitment is not stated in the education FAQ
The AI default is the real fork in the road
Strip away the design features and the two vendors have made opposite bets on the same question: what should a student’s account be able to do on day one.
Canva’s answer is nothing generative. Its schools page states that generative AI features are disabled by default for students and can only be unlocked by administrators, and that granular permission controls let IT switch off elements, photos, video and music, publishing, apps and templates per user type. Canva also states that it and its third-party providers never use Canva Education content to train AI models, and that the platform is certified by iKeepSafe as compliant with FERPA and COPPA, is a signatory of the US National Data Privacy Agreement, and offers a GDPR-compliant data processing addendum.
Adobe’s answer is that generative AI is part of the lesson. Its education page frames the K-12 offer around teaching generative AI “in a structured way that promotes critical thinking and transparency”, and the Premium entitlement the free licence grants includes the generative features. Safety is handled through content filtering on image and video search plus district-level admin rights, with the detail deferred to Adobe’s student privacy policy.
Neither position is wrong, but they cannot both be your policy. A district that wants generative AI off until a teacher enables it finds Canva’s default already matches; a district that wants students generating images in a media-literacy unit saves a configuration step with Adobe. Decide which you are before comparing feature lists — this is the item you cannot retrofit without retraining staff.
What a district should actually check
Identity first. Canva’s district tier requires a SAML 2.0 SSO provider and your own email domain; Google Workspace for Education institutions under 10,000 users can sign up the same day, everyone else applies. Adobe works through an Admin Console you may already have, or the K-12 wizard. A Google district has both options and Canva is faster; a Microsoft district with SCIM running will find Adobe’s sync more fully documented.
Then the LMS you teach in. Canva lists Canvas, Google Classroom, Schoology, ClassLink, PowerSchool, Infinite Campus, Aeries and Skyward. Adobe documents Google Classroom, Canvas via LTI 1.3, Clever, ClassLink and Microsoft. A gradebook in Infinite Campus or Aeries favours Canva; Canvas with SpeedGrader is covered by both.
Then the exit. Canva warns graduating students they may lose their school email and account, and to copy designs to a personal account first. Adobe says the school owns the accounts. Either way, a senior’s portfolio needs an export plan before May.
Who should not use either one
Canva publishes its exclusions; Adobe simply scopes its offer to K-12 schools and districts. Between the two, the practical answer for people outside the K-12 box is the same: you are on a personal free tier.
- University and college instructors — excluded from Canva Education by name. Canva for Campus is a paid institutional product; otherwise you are on Canva Free. Adobe’s education Express page is written for K-12 classrooms.
- Private tutors, homeschool parents, and out-of-school programme staff — Canva lists all three as ineligible. Adobe has no individual route either.
- Public city or county librarians — excluded from Canva Education. School librarians are eligible; public librarians are not.
- Preschool and daycare assistants — excluded from Canva Education, which covers primary and secondary only.
If you fall into one of those groups, the best free AI tools for teachers covers what a personal account can still do, and it separates the genuinely free tiers from the trials.
How to choose
- One teacher, no IT ticket, needs it this week → Canva for Education. A school email domain is instant; a licence photo is 48 hours. Nothing else in this comparison is close on time-to-access.
- A teacher whose school has no Adobe contract and no admin console → start with Canva, and raise Adobe only if your district is already standardising on it. The Adobe wizard is a district action, not a teacher action.
- A district standardising on Google Workspace for Education, under 10,000 users → Canva’s same-day district signup is the shortest path to every teacher and student having a licence.
- A district already running an Adobe Admin Console or Microsoft SCIM → Adobe Express, because the licence assignment and sync are already built into infrastructure you own.
- A district that wants generative AI off until a teacher turns it on → Canva, whose default already matches that policy.
- A district that wants students generating images as part of a media-literacy unit → Adobe, whose Premium-level entitlement includes the generative features, with safe search on.
For the rest of a classroom stack, the 7 best AI tools for teachers prices the lesson-planning and grading layer that neither of these two touches, the best AI presentation tools for teachers covers the deck-building tools that compete with both, and the MagicSchool AI review looks at the platform most likely to sit alongside whichever design tool you pick.
The bottom line
Both licences cost nothing, so the decision comes down to who can approve one. Canva verifies an individual K-12 teacher — instant with a school email domain, 48 hours with a document — and publishes a rulebook specific enough that most people can tell in two minutes whether they qualify. Adobe grants Express Premium free of charge but issues it to a school or district through an Admin Console or the K-12 wizard: the better choice for a district already running Adobe or Microsoft identity, the wrong one for a teacher acting alone. The second fork is the AI default — Canva ships student generative AI switched off and says school content is never used for training, Adobe ships it as part of the entitlement with safe search. Pick the policy first, then the tool that already implements it.
Related guides
- The 7 Best AI Tools for Teachers in 2026 (Classroom-Ready)
- The 8 Best Free AI Tools for Teachers in 2026 (Free Tiers, Checked)
- 6 Best AI Presentation Tools for Teachers (2026): Compared for Real Classrooms
- MagicSchool AI Review (2026): Lesson Plans, Rubrics, and IEPs
Frequently asked questions
Is Canva for Education or Adobe Express for Education easier to get?
Canva, and by a wide margin for an individual teacher. Canva accepts a verified educational email domain and grants access immediately, or a photo of a teaching licence reviewed within 48 hours. Adobe Express for Education is also free, but its deployment page routes you to an Adobe Admin Console or the K-12 self-service wizard, which means the licence is issued to a school or district rather than to one teacher.
Can an individual teacher sign up for Adobe Express for Education without their school?
Adobe's own pages describe two routes: joining a classroom with a class code from a teacher, or setting up Adobe Express for your school or district. The free K-12 licence is granted through an Adobe Admin Console or the K-12 self-service wizard, both of which are school-level actions. Adobe does not publish a document-upload verification path for an individual teacher the way Canva does.
Do students need an invitation to use either one?
Yes on both. Canva states that K-12 students can only get access if their teacher invites them from a Canva Education account, and that a student who signs up with a school address matching a registered district gets access instantly. Adobe gives students a class code from their teacher. Neither lets a K-12 student self-enrol.
Which one is safer for student data?
Both publish school-facing compliance claims, and the wording differs in a way that matters. Canva says it is FERPA and COPPA compliant, certified by iKeepSafe, a signatory of the US National Data Privacy Agreement, and that it and its third-party providers never use Canva Education content to train AI models. Adobe says schools own the accounts and exercise admin rights, that the K-12 offer includes image and video safe search with content filtering, and points to its student privacy policy. Adobe's education FAQ does not make an equivalent no-training commitment in the place where it discusses student data.
Is generative AI on by default for students?
On Canva, no. Canva states that generative AI features are disabled by default for students and can only be unlocked by administrators. On Adobe Express for Education, generative AI is part of the Premium-level experience the free K-12 licence grants, presented as a teaching tool with safe search. That is a genuine policy difference, not a feature gap, and it is the first thing a district should decide.
What happens to the account when a teacher leaves or a student graduates?
Canva is explicit: graduating students may lose access to their school email and therefore to their Canva Education account, and Canva tells them to copy designs to a personal account first. For district deployments, Canva's admin controls sit with the institution. Adobe states that schools own the accounts and exercise admin rights, which implies the same outcome, but its education pages do not spell out a graduate handover step.
Keep reading
→Best AI Grading Tools for Teachers (2026): Picks for Essays, Exams, and Bubble Sheets
CoGrader, EssayGrader, Class Companion, Gradescope, ZipGrade, and MagicSchool compared on the work each one is built to grade. Which AI grading tool fits your classroom in 2026 — with pricing verified at the source and honest limits.
→6 Best AI Lesson Plan Generators for Teachers (2026): Compared, Not Sponsored
MagicSchool, Diffit, Curipod, Eduaide, Kuraplan, and ChatGPT compared on the job a teacher actually has — turning a standard into a full lesson — across standards alignment, differentiation, exports, and free-tier limits. Here's what saves prep time.
→The 6 Best AI Math Tools for Teachers in 2026 (Computed, Authored, or Guessed)
Math tools for teachers sorted by where the answer key comes from: a computer algebra engine, a human-authored item bank, or a language model predicting the next token. Six picks, with prices read from each vendor's own page in October 2026.